#WhatIRead – After I Do

#SpoilerAlert- Please skip if you’re planning to read this. I don’t believe in spoiling books or TV shows for anyone. That kind of sin is something I don’t want to ever be accused of.

Another Taylor Jenkins Reid book that I devoured in a day, After I Do is a simple and beautiful story of a couple. Lauren meets Ryan at University, when they’re both reaching towards a croissant or baguette at the same time. She’s noticed him everywhere on her usual routine and is not necessarily surprised when she finally talks to this handsome dude. Ryan is smitten by Lauren!

It’s a classic case of falling in love, graduating, getting jobs, getting married, until finally one day, there’s no love left to share. Unresolved issues, lack of sex, arguments, irritating quirks and a whole lot of resentments – it all comes to a breaking point and the couple needs out. They decide to spend some time away from each other, they unanimously decide to live apart for a year during which they can recalibrate their personal life, figure out what went wrong, and realize whether they want to stay married or are they better off apart and away.

The plot is rather simple, isn’t it? What makes this book special is the fact that the problems articulated are very reasonable, something that could happen to you or me. And then there is a wonderful family, Lauren’s support system that reminds you of how even when you’re feeling shitty and are alone, you have best friends and close family who’ll help you get out of your shit.

I found myself highlighting a lot of things from this read. There were some nice life realizations which I’ve saved on Goodreads. At the cost of it being a spoiler, there’s something I want to write about.

The end of this book reminded me of our very own Meredith and Mc Dreamy. Meredith, in her mature, all-too-familiar voice says, “I can live without you, but I don’t want to.” And that my friends, is ‘After I Do’ for you.

Published by psychedspurti

Discovering, Adapting, and Surviving.....while trying to read voraciously.

Leave a comment