We were on a break!

Now, if that headline got to you, pat yourself on the back and give me a shout out! You, sir or ma’am, are most definitely a FRIENDS fan(atic)!

So is this blog going to be a tribute to/of our favorite show? Definitely not. I just had to get back to writing, because my gears are stuck and they won’t move, and there’s no oil that’s helping remedy this situation. So, I just had to start a blog, and I had to keep it up at a reasonable pace, and just so you don’t think I’m an AI chatbot, I tried to be as unrealistic and as far from the truth as I possibly could.

So, where was I? In between hiding my face in the covers of my e-book reader or phone, I have been luxuriating in the comfort of sleep. From someone who needed a bare minimum of 6 hours a day, I now seem to be able to sleep a decent 10 hours, although I feel like a guilty puppy when I wake up and have missed the morning hours. Of late, I have been feeling no joy in waking up early and seeing the colours of the sky change. I have instead hitting the bed at around 3 and seeing where the day takes me. It has not been very pretty to be honest. The few days that I actively try to wake up early and feel good about it, are rare and I waste no time in going back to the pattern I’ve unwittingly created for myself. I thought that things would change with the arrival of more family at home, but they fell just right into our pattern! So much for change 🙂

Anyway, I set out a reading challenge for myself this year. An astounding (not when I thought of doing it) 75 books this year in 2023. And Goodreads tells me that I’ve only accomplished about 25! That’s a real dampener, and this year I’ve tried to read some real shitty books. No kidding.

I think, and this is still a ‘think’ that I may have outgrown outside food. That doesn’t mean that I’m not over indulging in my sweet tooth fetishes, but I’m just depending on my skills to give in to my cravings. For the last few days, 3 nonetheless, I’ve made Mug in a Brownie, inspired by the very best Preppy Kitchen guy (hang on – I just learnt that this name is John Kanell. Oh, and now that I’ve opened up another tab, I may as well spend a few minutes reading up!) Alright, so I re-read the recipe, looked at the moderations, decided I like the basic version fine, and then graduated to stalking John on Instagram. All in a matter of minutes. You think I’m not efficient, but when I get to things, I put my hand in places I shouldn’t and then of course, I curse myself.

What else can I tell you about? My debilitating inability to work out should not be news to you if you’ve been following me for a while. But I am truly hopeless. And deserve no sympathy on that end. It’s just a lost battle that I sometimes rake mostly with my thoughts and not my actions.

You’ve been a patient reader, and perhaps I could write more. But I really need to get to work, and I’ve got to show up.

So, here’s a picture of flowers in bloom, enjoy them and go get started with your day.

P.S _Do excuse me for assuming your day starts at 1.28 PM IST.

Adios, amigos.

Published by psychedspurti

Discovering, Adapting, and Surviving.....while trying to read voraciously.

Leave a comment